An Overview of Dallas Cowboys Super Bowl History

Dallas Cowboys pic
Dallas Cowboys

A band director with the Grand Prairie Independent School District, Robert Sullivan has worked in and around Austin, TX, as a music educator for more than a decade. Beyond his professional responsibilities, Robert Sullivan follows the Dallas Cowboys.

The Cowboys have contested eight Super Bowl games, a National Football League (NFL) record shared with the Denver Broncos, Pittsburgh Steelers, and New England Patriots. The franchise’s five Super Bowl victories are tied with the San Francisco 49ers for second all time. The Cowboys are also one of just four teams to contest back-to-back Super Bowl games on multiple occasions.

The Cowboys franchise made its first Super Bowl appearance in 1970, losing by three points to the Baltimore Colts. The Cowboys returned to the Super Bowl the following season, earning Dallas its first NFL championship with a 24-3 triumph over the Miami Dolphins. Between 1975 and 1978 the Cowboys reached three of four Super Bowls, winning a second championship in 1977.

Led by quarterback Troy Aikman in the early 1990s, the Cowboys once again became a dominant force in the league. The 1992 Cowboys won 13 regular season games before storming through the postseason, punctuating the year with a 52-17 win over the Broncos in the Super Bowl, the franchise’s third overall and first championship win in 15 years. Dallas and Aikman would add fourth and fifth championships in 1993 and 1994.